I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Heartbreak

Yesterday afternoon my daughter pulled me into her bedroom and said, “Mom, I need to tell you something.”   I sat down with her on her bed and she began telling me how she found out at lunch that her “boyfriend” had another “girlfriend” in another class.  She was devastated.  Heartbroken.  She cried.  I comforted her.  Told her all the things a mother should say.  Things like he isn’t good enough for you, you can find another boyfriend…  YOU’RE ONLY 9 YEARS OLD!  You know, things like that.

You can judge me if you want to, but I’ve read her journal.  She thought she really loved this poor little misguided boy.  I feel so bad for her, but I’m at a real loss for what to do or say.  I think I said all the right things.  By the time we were done, she was smiling so I think it went ok.  When she told her Daddy about it, he joking asked if she wanted him to go beat him up.  She said, very straight faced, that she was going to have her brother take care of it.

And so it begins….

In other news, my son had to have some dental work done yesterday.  I was a little scared for him.  A couple of summers ago, he had run face first into a tree while we were on vacation in Georgia.  The dentist repaired his broken teeth beautifully.  Right before their Fall Break from school in October he took a dodgeball to the face and broke one of the previously broken toofers.  All together he had to have that tooth fixed, a cavity filled, and one tooth pulled to make room for another that is coming in… in the wrong place.

He had asked me if it would hurt.  I couldn’t lie to him.  Just like when he asked me about Santa, the Tooth Fairy, and the Easter Bunny.  I just could not lie.  I told him that the dentist would give him some shots and yes those would probably hurt, but then his mouth would be numb and it wouldn’t hurt.

He nearly broke my hand while getting those shots, but I was so proud of him because he didn’t make a  sound while getting any of his work done.  He did make a small peep at the end when his tooth was getting pulled, but I think it was more out of surprise than anything else.  He didn’t even ask for any pain relief later on in the evening when the anesthetic had worn off.  My little big man.

I am not prepared for my babies to be not babies anymore.  And HOLY SHIT I’m about to have another baby and do this… All. Over. Again!  Someone should send supplies!  Like Xanex, coffee, and a shot gun.

