I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Archive for August 12, 2010

It’s the little things…

Kaia Papaya:  Mom come here!
Me:  What is it?!
Kaia Papaya:  Get the camera, get the camera!  I found a heart on this leaf!
Me:  Ok, I’m coming, I’m coming.

I let her take the photo since she in fact found the subject.  I think she did an awesome job.

Follow my blog with bloglovin

Book Review *Patton: The Generals*

This book “Patton: The Generals” by Agostino von Hassell and Ed Breslin is about General George S. Patton, Jr.  A great military man who was misunderstood.  He came from a long line of military men on both his mother’s and father’s side of his family.

I originally chose to review this book because somewhere very distantly in my ancestry, I’ve heard we are related.  I was hoping to find out more about this enigmatic, colorful man.  I was not disappointed.

Reading this showed me that the movie I had seen was not as near to the truth as I had considered it to be.  General Patton’s rival General Omar Bradley worked as the film’s chief consultant! Obviously playing to all of Patton’s less than wonderful shortcomings.

I learned that while several of his decisions were not exactly agreed upon by others, they usually ended up being favorable to his decisions.  He was a family man, a military man, and quite the perfectionist!  I’m so glad that I decided to read up on one of the greatest generals of the United States military.

*Thomas Nelson Publishers has provided me with a copy of this book.  They do not require a positive review to do so.