I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Lead Like Ike - 10 Business Strategies from the CEO of D-Day
I love reading about history.  That is what drew me to this book.  I enjoyed learning how Eisenhower used business strategies on the battlefield.  I thought even though I do not run a business President Eisenhower’s leadership could be an asset to my everyday life.
I was definitely pleased once I began reading.  I liked how Loftus labeled the major players in the monumental day that was to be known as D-Day, from the “board of directors” (Roosevelt, Churchhill, Stalin and the chiefs of staff) to the “stakeholders” (soldiers, sailors, etc.).  This gave me a better perspective of the business side of this huge undertaking.  I don’t think many people understand the complexity of such a maneuver.  I had no idea all of the little “business deals” that took place leading up to the invasion of Normandy.
The highlighted tips and strategies were a huge plus with this book.  Very informative and helpful appendix’s were a plus as well.  I now have a better understanding and respect for what goes into undertaking such a large movement of troops, personnel, and supplies.  I highly recommend this book for anyone interesting in a better understanding of running a business from a strategic military perspective or visa versa.

**Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy.

