I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Sights and Sounds

Yesterday I discovered that I have speech recognition software on my computer.  I’m surprised that it can understand what I say because of the way I speak.  If you’d seen any of my video blogs  then you know I have a southern drawl when I speak. This will take some getting used to, but it’s working for now.

In other news, I went to the eye doctor on Wednesday.  I hadn’t been in about two years so I tried a new doctor this time.  I took the kids to see him recently and they really liked him.  He said that my prescription hadn’t changed much since the last time I had my eyes checked.  He also said that my eyes were perfect for contact lenses.  I told him I wasn’t sure I wanted to try contacts.  The last time I tried to wear contacts it was a fiasco.  The lady who was helping me sat about 4 inches from my face while I was trying to put the contacts in my eyes.  Neil was just a baby and he was not happy.  He was crying from his stroller.  She was very unhappy to have to hear him.  I could tell that she was irritated and tired of waiting for me to get the contacts in my eyes.  I gave up and have not attempted contacts again.  He gave me a trial pair of contacts to try out.  He said he couldn’t order a prescription until I could show them that I can do it myself.

After I got home, I tried 15 minutes and never could get one in.  I decided to stop trying for now, but I would really like to wear them.  I guess I will just have to keep trying. Until then I will make do with a new pair of glasses.  They are similar to the ones I already have, but the new ones are black. I should get them in about two weeks.

Only one more day until the kids are out of school for Summer break.  I think I’m more excited than they are.  No more getting up at 6:00 AM!  I’m going to take them to the Louisville zoo sometime this summer.  Plus we have a couple of camping trips already planned.  I wanted to go to the beach in Panama City, but I’m unsure of what the oil spill will do.  I don’t want to book a camp site only to find out that we can’t swim.  So I guess we’ll be sticking to camping closer to home this year.This last week of school is going by quickly.  The kids have been busy with lots of playing.  On Wednesday Kaia went to the movies, and out to eat, and bowling and Neil went to Beech Bend.  I don’t remember ever having so much fun when I was in school.  I hope I can keep them entertained!

