I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Water, water, water.  Prior to the weekend our local rainfall levels were about 7″ below normal.  Now we are about 2.5″ above normal.  We received (on average) a whopping 9″+ of rain.

Massive flooding in Tennessee closed down major interstates in the area.  It was scary crazy flooding in Nashville.  Check out this YouTube video of coverage from the TN Dept. of Transportation cameras via Channel 2.

We have been extremely lucky at our house.  Our only issue is a soggy basement.  And to be honest, it’s not all that soggy.  I’ve plugged in a couple of fans to circulate some air and cranked up the dehumidifier.  The basement is where our washer & dryer are located so I’ve got some seriously water logged clothes to get washed up before they mildew.

Again we are very, very lucky.  Our area is still contending with high water and rivers/creeks that haven’t crested yet.  I don’t think I’ve ever been happier to see the sun shining!

For more information visit WKRN.com.

Comments on: "Floatation Device Required" (1)

  1. Wow. I didn't realize. Guess I haven't been watching the news. I can totally relate though. I live in Cedar Rapids, IA where we had record flood levels (well beyond 500 yr flood plains) 2 yrs ago. Our city still bears many scars. We were also lucky with our house- only basement issues here too, but so much of our life was affected- library went under, the YMCA, so many of my children's friends moved away, etc.Good luck.

Comments are closed.