I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Futbol

soc·cer

Function: noun
Etymology: by shortening & alteration from association football
Date: 1889
: a game played on a field between two teams of 11 players each with the object to propel a round ball into the opponent’s goal by kicking or by hitting it with any part of the body except the hands and arms —called also association football

This family is new to soccer.  I know absolutely nothing at all about the rules and calls and regulations.  It’s all completely lost on me.  The kids have always played baseball and we faithfully watch as many NFL football games as we can possibly take in.  This year Kaia decides that baseball isn’t for her.  Neither is softball.  She wants to play soccer.

First off I’m freaked out that we have to pay $45.  All she gets out of this $45 is a uniform shirt.  We had to supply a ball for practice, black shorts, socks, shin guards, and of course, new cleats.  And they are only playing 9 games.  NINE GAMES!  And… all but two of the games are being played an hour away.

Saturday the game was cancelled because there was impending thunderstorms and tornadoes headed our way.  I felt sure that Sunday the game would be cancelled as well because it was very chilly, extremely windy, and raining.  This is yet another part of soccer that I have no clue about.  If there is no lightening, they are playing a game.  In the rain.

So we drive an hour to Owensboro.  Tragically realize that I have forgotten my umbrella.  Trudge through soggy wet grass in my flip flops (’cause I checked the radar before leaving and it wasn’t raining…) to the farthest field from the parking lot.  Then we sat for an hour in the mid-50 degree weather.  IN THE RAIN!!!

I don’t like soccer anymore.

Comments on: "Futbol" (5)

  1. FORTY FIVE BUCKS FOR A SHIRT!pffft!!!AN HOUR AWAY EACH DERN GAME!!!PPPFFFTTTT!!!!these kids have no idea what we do for them.:)

  2. Oh wow..that sucks..so what does Kaia think of soccer now?? 🙂

  3. Mrs. Hall – They have NO CLUE!Savannahs_mom – She loves it! And she's doing pretty good, but I'm still learning what all these rules are!

  4. Welcome to my world…. And if you had played in Russellville… it would have been $30 and you got a cool shirt- and socks…lolAnd the coolest coach of the year…. =)(Voted by the league- not myself, of course….)

  5. Thanks for stopping by on my SITS day and becoming a new follower. I have a lot of stops to make, but I'll be visiting you again. Super cute blog!

Comments are closed.