I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

December 2nd

So last night I had a salad for supper. 2 Tb of light ranch dressing, 5 olives, a 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese, and lettuce. I honestly have no idea what the numbers are for it. I used regular shredded cheese because I already had it. I’m not going to just go throw out everything I have that isn’t low cholesterol or light or low fat or whatever. There wasn’t much left in the bag so I used what was there and next trip to the grocery I’ll get the low fat cheese. An hour and a half later I was starving. Not literally, but all I could think about was food, food, food. I broke down and ate 25 Wheat Thins. I’m definitely going to have to find some good, filling recipes.

I actually looked forward to breakfast this morning! A 16 oz. glass of soy milk and a bowl of Fruity Cheerios with soy milk. I’ve never had the fruity Cheerios before, but of course the grocery store was out of Honey Nut Cheerios. Because that would have made it too easy.

I think I’m already going to do away with the number crunching. That crap is for the birds and will probably only end up making me feel worse about the food I eat. I’m still definitely going to be reading the labels, but I’m just not going to be cataloging those numbers.

Lunch was relatively bland. One and a half tuna sandwiches. Made with white albacore tuna (in water) and wheat bread. Man that sounds a lot worse than it actually tasted.  I found a website earlier while trying to find good foods to eat that said, “If it tastes good, you probably shouldn’t eat it anymore.” Gee, thanks.

For supper tonight I’m going to try a recipe I found on Kraft Foods.com. It has (per serving) 400 calories, 3.5g of saturated fat, and 80mg of cholesterol.

Foil-Packet Southwestern Chicken Dinner

What you’ll need:

1-3/4 cups warm water
2 cups instant brown rice, uncooked
4 small boneless skinless chicken breast halves (1 lb.)
1/4 cup KRAFT Light Ranch Dressing
1-1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 cup KRAFT 2% Milk Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese
1 bunch broccoli, cut into florets (about 4 cups)
1 red pepper, chopped

How to fix it:

HEAT oven to 400°F. Combine water and rice; let stand 5 min. Spoon onto centers of 4 large sheets of heavy-duty foil; top with remaining ingredients.

BRING up foil sides. Double fold top and both ends to seal each packet, leaving room for heat circulation inside. Place in 15x10x1-inch pan.

BAKE 25 to 30 min. or until chicken is done (165°F). Cut slits in foil to release steam before opening each packet.

I am encouraged by the fact that it is prepared with brown rice as I’ve read that eating the white rice is probably not good for me. I like broccoli too so hopefully this won’t be too bad. Still not a fan of chicken though…

