I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Best In Show

This is Cyrus. Named after John Malcovich’s character, “Cyrus the Virus”, in the movie “Con-Air”. Not named for any certain country singer(s).

He is almost 6 years old. We’ve had him since he was around 10 weeks old. He’s been the best dog we’ve ever had. He’s great with the kids. He does tend to be a jumper and a licker though. I get tired of trying to defend his breed. He’s an American Pit Bull Terrier, American Staffordshire Terrier, or Staffordshire Bull Terrier, whichever you prefer. Most people just say, “You have a PIT BULL?!?!” and “What about your kids?”

This breed gets so much bad publicity in the news. It seems that every dog bite comes from a pit bull. If you raise a dog to be mean, vicious, and aggressive then guess what? You’re going to have a mean, vicious, and aggressive dog. It really doesn’t matter what breed of dog you have, if you raise them well they will be good dogs.

Cyrus is a good dog. He would defend his humans if he had to, but would never bite anyone just because he wanted too. I think the vast majority of the injuries sustained by these dogs is the fact that their owners weren’t raising them well and weren’t caring for them in a way that is conducive to a happy dog. I would never allow my dog to just run around on his own. Even if he was a poodle.

I’m writing this because I’ve heard of two dog bite victims in the news lately and so much emphasis was put on the fact that they were “viciously attacked by a pit bull” that I wondered if anyone had any idea there were other dog breeds out there. I’m here to say that there is at least one dog of this breed that is a good dog. He’s a family dog. He’s a lap dog, if you let him. He’s a companion. He’s goofy. He’s lovable. He’s kind. He’s the perfect dog.

He’s our Cy-cy, Cyrus the Virus, and Goofy Gus.
