I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

I Just Don’t Know…

what to write about. Nothing interesting or fun is going on.

It’s a short work/school week for everyone due to the Thanksgiving holiday on Thursday. I’m just not excited about the holidays this year. For once I’d like to be able to spend some time with my family, but it’s not going to happen. They all just live so far away. We had hoped to be able to go down for Thanksgiving, but the school district is using the day before Thanksgiving as a “make-up” day so we had to drop those plans. Driving to southern Florida on Thanksgiving day is not my idea of fun times.

We’re lucky this year though because we are only going to have to do two dinners. That is something we are both thankful for! Thanksgiving day we’ll be going to my mother-in-law’s for family dinner. Her dad, Chris’ granddad, usually does dinner on Thanksgiving day at his house, but this year they are going to do it at my mother-in-law’s and I think that is wonderful. Not only does she have a larger home, but we can all get together on one day. I’m really looking forward to it. Then Friday, I’m cooking Thanksgiving dinner. Just for my mom. Last year, I cooked my first real Thanksgiving dinner. It was a pretty awesome dinner. We got to have my bestest friend in the whole wide world and her family over. We ate, drank, and were merry.

I’m interested in knowing what kinds of family traditions everyone has for Thanksgiving. At my mother-in-law’s we always help decorate the Christmas tree. When we get there, the tree is bare, but by the time we leave it’s completely decked out with ornaments. So what is/are the tradition(s) in your house?

