I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Sunrise

I did not want to get out of bed on Sunday morning.  I guess we all had one too many pieces of chocolate Saturday night because none of us were in bed before 1AM.  Normally, I’m seeing the backs of my eye lids by 9:30PM.  I know this is sad.  You don’t have to tell me.  Trick or treating seems to have become a chore.  Neil wasn’t really excited about going this year, but humored me anyway.  Halfway through our rounds of town, he gave up.  I can’t say that I blame him.  I was ready to give up too.  Every year they haul in truck loads of candy, which never gets entirely eaten before the next year.  I wasn’t too upset to cut out of the festivities early.  For once, both children were on board for doing the same thing…. heading home.

I’ve noticed over the last couple of days that the sun seems to be getting up on a different side of the bed.  Just last week, when the sun would rise, it would come streaming in one of our living room windows.  It was helpful in waking me up after the kids had already gotten on the bus.  Friday I noticed that it seemed a little darker than usual when it was time for the kids to head out the door.  I thought it was because of the cloud cover, but when they walked outside, Kaia said, “Oh, there is the sun Mom.  Over there.”  It was still hiding behind some clouds, but was in a totally different location than “normal”.  Sunday morning it was easier to spot because it was a crisp, clear, cloudless morning.  I know that Autumn has been here for a little while already, but when you notice the location of the sunrise has moved, you know that we’re officially there.

