I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Breezin’ Through

For some reason the sun seemed a little sluggish getting up this morning.  I doubt it was the sun’s fault that the overhanging clouds keep her rays from shining through, but at 6:30AM it was still pretty gloomy outside.  The temperature this morning was very pleasant though, sitting around 68 degrees.  The kids didn’t even want to wear their jackets to school.

It was a near perfect morning.  Except for the wind.  It’s been very windy, but the wind added a little something to the moment I think.  As the kids dashed off to their designated positions at the end of the driveway to wait for the school bus,  they noticed all the fallen leaves just lying on the ground.  Waiting for them it seemed.  It became apparent that the night had stripped the maple trees of nearly all their leaves.  I started to run in the house for my camera, but I stopped.  I didn’t want to miss the moment.  Together they began to pile the leaves.  Scooping with their hands, scooting with their feet.  Every time one of them would try to throw a handful into the pile, the wind would whip all the leaves away.

I don’t think I’ve ever noticed just how quickly the leaves change and disappear.  Just a few days ago, they were all blazingly yellow and orange and now they are all nearly bare.  I haven’t been able to get into the Halloween spirit this year.  I guess I’ve never noticed how quickly that comes and goes too.

