I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Wrestling

I am still wrestling with the dilemma of which blog platform to use. If Blogger would introduce static pages and comment threading, there would be no question of which one to use for me. I’ve been looking into WordPress.org so I can have my own domain. I was utterly lost when it starting telling me about downloading this, going here to buy that, PHP and some other acronym I can’t remember.

The current domain that I own is just too long. Too many words. I’ve dragged you all over to WordPress now, but that internal debating that I told you about before the move is still going on. The fact that I can’t use Javascript, can’t change the CSS, and can’t upload a new theme without going through what seems to be a long and arduous process is a real turn off for me. I’m no professional blogger. That’s not a shock huh? But I do enjoy it and I don’t want to fight against my blog platform.

There are things that I do appreciate about the WordPress.com platform. The looks of the dashboard, ease of use with the dashboard, static pages (multiple pages), threadable comments (reply to an individual comment), and having a single reviewable page for all comments are a few of the things I do enjoy having the use of. The lack of Javascript or the ability to adjust my own CSS is really bothering me. I think I may have jumped too soon. I think I may have to jump back.

However, I do think that the blog title/address will change over on Blogger. I like my title here. I’ve been blogging for over 2 years now and I’ve changed. I’m still distracted (as is obvious with the fact that I can’t make up my mind about where to put the blog!), but not nearly as much. I think I might be ready to settle into a nice routine. For now, keep coming back here. I’ll make a big honkin’ blog about the new address once I finally get everything worked out and I’ve assured myself that it was the right decision. Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

Comments on: "Wrestling" (2)

  1. I'm so confused on where to look…LOL

  2. Rubi-I know! I'm so sorry! I'm going to make a "formal" announcement about the change on the other blog(s) soon. I think this is where I'm going to stay though.

Comments are closed.