I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Major Discovery

I’ve been addicted to soda for a long time. Particularly the cherry flavored variety. This is a real problem because every little 12 ounce can is on the average around 160 calories each. I was drinking way too many for way too long. This caught up with me along with getting older and having my metabolism (and myself in general) starting to slow down.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Diet Dr. Pepper does not taste like regular Dr. Pepper. I don’t care what those people on that commercial say. I can not handle the taste of diet sodas. There is just something in the after taste that leaves me feeling a little nauseated. I even tried Coke Zero products. Those were just as bad. I guess it’s all just a matter of opinion and taste really.

I finally broke down a couple of weeks ago and decided to give Diet Rite a shot. Wow. I was impressed. Not only does it not taste like a regular diet drink, it isn’t made with aspartame. It’s made with Splenda, a sucralose sweetner. It has no calories, no carbohydrates, no caffeine, and no sodium. It even comes in 7 different flavors. Cola, cherry, white grape, tangerine, black cherry, red raspberry, and kiwi strawberry. So far I’ve tested the cola, cherry, white grape, and tangerine flavors. All get a thumbs up, but the regular cola flavor is only a go to if there are no other flavors available.

My mom was shocked when she saw me drinking a diet drink. She even said as much. I would still prefer to have a regularly flavored, calorie full soda, but this is the best thing I’ve come across in comparison. If you are looking for a way to cut some calories out of your diet without having to give up good tasting stuff, definitely give Diet Rite a try.

