I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

M…o…n…d…a…y

Normally I would tell you all about our weekend, but since the kids have been out of school it’s been like an extended weekend where the days have all run together. I’ll try to keep it brief.

We took the kids clothes shopping for school pictures. This is like a test of all patience. I always feel bad going shopping for clothes. I KNOW! Scary thought, huh? I feel bad because I always wonder if I could have gotten a better deal somewhere else. Neil wasn’t really a problem. Of course, he’s a boy so he doesn’t really care what shirt you get him to wear. We found some cool NFL thermals and his only problem with that was if they had a Patriots shirt in his size. Kaia, on the other hand, could not be pleased. Nothing that we found in two different stores was what she wanted. I was seriously hopeful in Old Navy because they had all of their clearance marked an additional 50% off. She couldn’t find a single thing that she liked that didn’t have green in it. Side note: The photographer is using some kind of green screen technology this year, so the kids aren’t supposed to wear any shade of green. She said she wanted to go to Justice so we took her. Cute clothes. Overpriced as well. There is no way that I am paying $29.95 for a t-shirt for an 8-year-old. Those people are insane. After getting home, I did find that their website has a sale going on of 40% off. Wish I had checked that before we’d left! Finally, she settled for an outfit from Kohl’s that was, guess what?? On sale! $24.99 for the entire outfit! She still wasn’t happy about it, but I’d had all I could take. She really wanted an outfit from Avril Lavigne’s Abbey Dawn, but it’s only available in Junior sizes. All of the clothes in the section of the store that were her size looked like they belonged on a 4-year-old. Cutesy little frogs and monkeys. Big block prints. She wasn’t having any of that. I had no idea that shopping for one stinkin’ outfit for an 8 & 10-year-old would be so exhausting! I think from now on, I’ll just go alone.

I completely forgot to tell everyone that last week Kaia made it into the “Five Mile Club” at school! You may recall that Neil has also accomplished this feat. She was very excited when she came home Tuesday with this news. She barely let Chris in the door when he got home from work to tell him about it. I would love to have just an ounce of their energy.

And so begins a new week. The first day of Autumn is tomorrow. I am really struggling with NOT putting up the Halloween decorations. I really don’t think that the end of September is too early… well, maybe it’s just a little too early… Maybe the last week? If I start now then I’ll be done putting them up BY next week…doesn’t that count?

