I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Old School

I’m feeling all deep and intellectual today. Why, you ask? Because yesterday my Mom brought me a blast from the past. She had discovered a VHS tape of my 8th grade graduation and dance. Circa 1993. First thought was “Oh my gawd… this is going to be funny!” Second thought was “Oh my gawd… Amanda is on this tape.” Some of you who know me in the real world, know the who’s, what’s, why’s, and how’s about Amanda, for others who don’t know the story, Amanda was a friend who was murdered in 1999. She is the sole reason for my friendship with Cam. I will forever be grateful to her.

For the rest of the day, I tried to remember where in the world we had put that VCR. I knew that even if I did find it I’d still have to wait for Chris to get home so he could hook it up. He’s the master of all things electronic in the livingroom. I dare not touch a thing for fear of royally screwing it all up.

After he took about two steps inside the door, I walked up to him, tape in hand, big grin on my face and asked him if he could pretty please with sugar on top find the VCR and hook it up so I could watch this video. Being the greatest of all husband, he obliged. We got the VCR all hooked up and ready to go. I put the tape in. Pushed rewind. Waited….. Finally it stopped and I pushed play. The tape ejected. Huh? So I put the tape back in. Pushed play again. The tape ejected again. I took the tape out and pushed the little button on the side to slide open the end. AHHHHHH!!!!! NO TAPE!!!!! The tape had broken. I am not ashamed to admit that I was devastated. Chris gingerly took apart the case and found the ends of the broken tape. This thing is super old so I should have thought about the fact that it might possibly break. Apparently a section of the tape had become sticky and stuck together. He took a pair of tweezers and pulled out the sticky part, snipped the ends, and with the expertise of someone who had obviously done this before, taped the two ends back together.

Guess what? It worked. For the next hour or so, I sat and watched while laughing, crying and saying things like, “What were we thinking? That outfit is horrible!! How were silk shirts ever popular?? Oooo…look at her hair!!” This weekend Chris said he would hook everything up so I can copy the tape to a DVD. The sound quality is junk, but it’s the images that are the most important.

I didn’t find it too ironic when I woke this morning to hear this song on the radio…

