I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Monday Weekend Recap

Mmmm…kay. This weekend went by so quickly that I’m still trying to figure out where it went! Kaia attended her 2nd sleep over. She said she had lots of fun and didn’t go to bed until around 2:30AM. I’m sure that Rubi appreciated a group of 8-9 year old girls singing karaoke until 2:30 in the morning! She’s a very brave soul!

We finally retrieved the kids bunk bed from the furniture store on Saturday. I say it in an exasperated tone because they’ve been on a layaway of sorts at the store for almost a year. Partly due to my lack of retaining anything without writing it down.

It all started with a commercial on TV. We’ve never purchased NEW furniture. Sure, we’ve bought furniture before, but it’s never been NEW. We knew that we were going to be moving soon and decided that we were going to get a new couch and love seat. See the chronicles of our living room furniture here. We picked out new ones along with the bunk bed. Put down the down payment and went on our merry way. About three months later, in the middle of our move, we realized that we just couldn’t afford to get new furniture right now and the new living room wasn’t going to fit the new furniture well, but the kids really needed new beds. Off we went again to the furniture store, removed the couch and love seat from our account and discovered we only owed about $75. That was in March. I am such a forgetful procrastinator.

Read More…
Until recently, the kids had separate bedrooms. But they were always in the others room. Can I sleep in his or her room tonight? and so on. So we set up their bunk bed, which was planned to just be two twin beds, in their bedroom.

It wasn’t as complicated as the guy at the furniture store made it out to be.  The instructions weren’t all that helpful though.  I just used the pictures as reference.  Even though the instructions said it would only take us about an hour, it took us more around 2 hours.

Then end result is that the kids love their new bed(s).  When they finally decide they no longer want to be roommates, the beds easily come apart to make two twin beds. 

I was happy that after all these years, we finally purchased our very first NEW piece of furniture.

Comments on: "Monday Weekend Recap" (4)

  1. Wow, this weekend did go by fast! Glad to see I'm not the only one.

  2. HA! Our first NEW furniture was for Nate, his convertible crib. Then, a year later, our very own bed that no one else had ever slept in.

  3. Remember how much fun my bunk beds were? Especially when we got tortured by Ashley? I hope they have a blast in theirs!!Love the fall look! Can't wait for Halloween!!

  4. First- the sleep over wasn't too bad- and after 1:30am they could have burned the house down- and I wouldn't have known it… Mom may have a different story there, because her room is right beside K's- but I heard NOTHING. Loving the bunk beds!! Make sure they don't get mad at each other and one toss the other off the top bunk- that hurts… William and I used to do that to C.J. and Krystal ALLLLLL THE TIME…. maybe that's what happened to those two?!?! 🙂

Comments are closed.