I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Time

I can remember when I was younger both my Mom and my Dad telling me that the older you get the faster time goes by. At the time, of course, I was like, “Whate-v-e-r.” Now that I am older and I have kids of my own I see that they were dead on right about that one.

I mean, what happened? It’s like I went to bed one day and woke up 20 years later. I’m 30, my parents are in their 60’s, and my oldest turns 10 this year. I look at the calendar today and it’s nearly July already. I barely remember what happened in January and we are darn near half way through the year.

This is why I take pictures. If you find me without my camera, something is wrong. Photos are memories. I can look a photo and tell you where we were, what we were doing, and how funny or serious the entire situation was. Sometimes (most of the time) Chris gets irritated at me because I’m constantly snapping pictures. I can’t help it. I watched my grandmother forget nearly everything. She called me by my mother’s name and didn’t even recognize my mom. I’m sure that fate awaits me as well and I hope that by capturing all these memories I can stave off the loss of my mind for a little while.

This is also part of the reason that I’ve been embracing Buddhism. Buddhism is about living for today. At least that’s the way I see it. Live your life today to be the best person you can be for yourself and for others. By living this way, you ensure that your next life will be a better one. Buddhism is more of a philosophy than a religion. I have no problem with whatever religion you choose to place your faith in. As long as you have faith in something. I just find too many questions in this life to put all my belief in a book written by many different people. My feelings on this are that history books are written by the winner, not the defeated. Just because the winner was victorious doesn’t mean they were right.

But enough about that… this post is about time. No matter how hard we try to stop it, time keeps going on. It doesn’t stop for anyone. So I guess what I’m trying to say is, just live today. Live everyday like it’s forever. One day at a time.

Comments on: "Time" (1)

  1. Very well said.

Comments are closed.