I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Originally I was going to pose the question of schooling or un-schooling, but have since changed my mind about this subject. There is great debate on both sides of the spectrum and I don’t want to cause a war of words.  With that said…

In keeping with the environmental theme from last week, I want to discuss Colony Collapse Disorder.

**Honey bee colony health has also been declining since the 1980s with the advent of new pathogens and pests. The spread into the United States of varroa and tracheal mites, in particular, created major new stresses on honey bees.

The best action you can take to benefit honey bees is to not use pesticides indiscriminately, especially not to use pesticides at mid-day when honey bees are most likely to be out foraging for nectar.

In addition, you can plant and encourage the planting of good nectar sources such as red clover, foxglove, bee balm, and joe-pye weed.  For more information see NAPPC.
**Taken from USDA website.

Earlier this Spring, I grabbed my camera and headed outside to take some photos of the newly bloomed Dogwood tree in our yard. Once I got out there I heard this electric type buzzing. I looked around and everywhere around this tree there were bees. There were so many that I could literally hear them buzzing. Not just one here or there, but a constant drone of bees. I was so excited. Normally, I’d be scared to death, but I was so happy to see so many gathering pollen.

See all that pollen gathering his little legs are doing? I risked my life for this picture people. Ok, well not literally, but those little buggers were everywhere. They are quick too. It was just luck that I was able to get any sort of picture of any of them at all.

Different kind of bee in this photo, but he was just lazing around the hollyhocks on Thursday morning.  It’s like he was waiting for me to photograph him.

Watch this little video featuring Burt from Burt’s Bees

This week I don’t really have any sort of question for you to write a blog post about. I’m just wondering if anyone has consciously decided to plant things this year to attract bees. We haven’t done anything here. Yet. We’d like to plant lots more flowers for next Spring and I hope to have a small garden. We moved in so late in the Spring it was almost too late to really start anything this year. So I guess that is sort of a question, isn’t it?

Comments on: "Think About This… {CCD}" (3)

  1. I agree with you that we should all do what we can to improve and restore habitats even to those creatures we don't normally think about. Since moving in here, Scott has done a remarkable job of removing several dead trees and thinning out the others. We were told that the fruit trees had not been known to bear any fruit in many, many years. After my husband's hard work, we now have apples and pears growing right in our backyard! You may not need to clear out trees, but something as simple as planting colorful bushes and flowers will go a long way in attracting bees, butterflies, and birds, all necessary to pollenation.

  2. What conscious post and I love it! I was hoping for a question to spin off for a post today but it's ok. I use Burt's Bees products and value bees and their extraordinary life! Glad to say that I have many flowers around that attract bees.. What would life be like without bees?

  3. Sorry 'bout that vchelle! It seems that not too many people were answering the questions so I said to myself, "Self, it's supposed to be "Think About This…" so why not just have your readers…ya know, think! Plus, I've become distracted… who knew?! =-O

Comments are closed.