I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Averted Disaster

As I’m sure many of you may have seen, our quaint little college was on CNN yesterday! Crazy, huh? It’s like, WOW we made national headlines. Then you realize what the news was really about and

kaboom

Mushroom cloud

….shame ensues. At least it has for me. All these police (campus, city, county, state) show up for what basically amounted to a “false alarm” a.k.a. a group of guys fighting at one location that ended up moving to a second location. They locked down (?) the school and reports were flying everywhere about armed gunman, hostages and all kinds of BULLSHIT. I put a question mark after the “lock down” because I didn’t see any lock down. What I saw on the news was hundreds of students just standing around. Out in the open. Seemingly waiting for that unseen “gunman” to shoot them! Shouldn’t a lock down be students inside buildings, under shelter, where they would be less likely to be harmed???

Obviously, the system has a few kinks to work out. But I suppose it’s better to overreact than to underreact and have the worst possible thing happen.

Further information can be found at the following:

CNN Report-5 students taken into custody…
WBKO-Shots Reportedly Fired on WKU’s Cam….

Videos-10/22/08

Comments on: "Averted Disaster" (2)

  1. And don't forget, I talked with a student yesterday who said that a man came into the classroom and said "Everybody out." and as they were running out the SWAT was running in. So, yeah, it makes no sense that they called it lockdown.

  2. I believe the only "lockdown" occured at PFT. They supposedly went room to room there.Anyway, I just wanted to once again point out that no matter how hard we try to convince the rest of the world we aren't like the stereotypes we are portrayed, something like this happens to convince the rest of America that we are. Just more shooting ourselves in the foot.

Comments are closed.