I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

Many Raindrops

This weekend was the dreaded yard sale weekend. Of course, it was overcast, rainy, wet, soggy, cool, and windy on Friday. Simply because we were trying to sell our wares. I did, however, make a whopping $3.00 (from one women alone!). I know, I know…calm down from all that excitement.

I did have my Gypsy Girl with me to keep me company, but she was constantly distracted by the shiny catalog. And (neener, neener) I found a JC Penney catalog on Saturday AND I got to peruse it all… by… myself.

Saturday also started off cool, wet, and misty rainy. We had a few customers here and there, but apparently no one was interested in kids and womens clothing on that day. My take for the day…. $0.00. Wow, I know, please hold your applause. I made the executive decision that I would watch the weather faithfully every day this week and if by some chance the weather was going to prove to be pleasant, we were going to yard sale again next weekend. I have no idea what I was thinking, making such a statement. I guess $3.00 is just not enough or, more like it, I want to get rid of all these clothes taking up space in my house! Anybody wear ladies size 1 or size 3 pants, skirts, shorts, or dresses? Next weekend, my mom’s yard, be there or be square.

Comments on: "Many Raindrops" (4)

  1. I had no idea you took that magazine picture, I must've been really into it! It was about the worst weather for a yardsale ever. And very odd, he broke out the tarps when the rain started, and you got customers. Some people are CRAZY!!!

  2. Just noticed how very lady-like I sit also, good to know….

  3. Don't feel bad, I never make much off of yard sales, either. Most of the time, it's not worth all the trouble you go to in setting it all up. However, if the damn water company doesn't get back out here soon and lay the line, I'm going to sell all that dirt they have mounded up all over my yard!

  4. By the way, you should talk Peas into buying those little chairs for her gnomes! If your mom would sell her kiln to me on a payment plan, I'd really love that.

Comments are closed.