I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific. – Lily Tomlin

August 14th

Well….this is the second week of school and I have to say my house has never been cleaner.  I am surprised at how quickly I can get things done now that the kids are back in school. It’s only been a few days, but already I like only having to drive 3 miles to meet the bus as opposed to having to drive 20 miles to pick them up at school. That is 20 miles One Way .

Neil isn’t taking to the bus as I had hoped, but he did make the comment yesterday that the older kids on the bus were nicer than the previous bus. Before we moved, we had tried the school bus thing, but he kept getting called down by the driver. When I would ask him what was going on, he would tell me that the older kids were picking on him and when he would try to “retaliate” he would get caught by the bus driver. I finally just gave up and started taking them to and from school, but once we moved…. whew, it was a long drive. To be honest, it kept me from doing a lot of things during the day because in order to get a decent parking spot and not have to be stuck with all the traffic “out back”, I had to get to the school by at least 1:30PM. In the back parking lot, which is where you are supposed to park when picking up children from school, you don’t have to only contend with cars, but also with the kids and parents walking from the school to their vehicles. It’s really a mess. When I parked there I used to just wait for everyone to leave and then I would go. I was always afraid I would run over someone!

I just hope things continue to go smoothly for the rest of the year…well at least until Christmas! I don’t know what to do with my extra time.  I guess I can actually get out of my house and make plans with people now. What a novel idea!

